Jahns Distinguished Lecturer

Richard H. Jahns: 1915-1983

This award was established in 1988 in co-sponsorship with the Engineering Geology Division of the Geological Society of America to provide funding for a distinguished Engineering Geologist to present an annual series of lectures at academic institutions in order to increase awareness of students about careers in Engineering Geology. The award includes a plaque presented at the Annual Banquet preceding the award year. Additionally, an honorarium is supplied to offset lecturer costs.

The Richard H. Jahns Fund of the AEG Foundation supports the travel expenses or honoraria, of the selected speakers who present information about engineering geology and environmental geology to diverse practitioners, student, faculty, and public audiences.

The AEG and EEGD nomination committee is seeking nominations for the 2022-2023 Richard H. Jahns Distinguished Lecturer. The lectureship was established in 1988 by the EEGD and AEG to commemorate Dr. Jahns and promote student awareness of environmental and engineering geology (applied geosciences) through annual lectures at academic institutions AEG chapter meetings. The appointment is presented annually to an individual who, through research or practice, has contributed to the advancement of environmental and (or) engineering geology. The focus of the Distinguished Lecturer is to:

  1. Present lectures by invitation at universities/colleges that do not have applied geology programs to promote awareness of applied geology among undergraduate geology students.
  2. Give lectures at universities/colleges with applied geology programs to reinforce the recognition and importance of applied geology.
  3. Give presentations to non-geology students, graduates, and undergraduates, to improve awareness and demonstrate the importance of applied geology.
  4. Give presentations to professional society groups in the region of universities/colleges inviting the lecturer to make presentations.

The Distinguished Lecturer is expected to give at least 10 to 20 lectures during their tenure. Travel and other expenses are reimbursed either by the host institution or AEG and EEGD. Please note that travel expenses reimbursed by AEG/EEGD are limited to a total of $10,000.

If you know of someone you believe is a great candidate, please submit your nomination by January 31.

Submit a Nomination

Current Jahns Lecturer

Tips on requesting a Jahns Lecture

Become our next Jahns Lecturer

Candidate Nomination Form - Nominations due January 31

Suggestions for Jahns Lecture Tours


1989 – James E. Slosson*
1990 – Robert L. Schuster 
1991 – Ellis L. Krinitzsky 
1992 – Barry Voight 
1993 – Roy J. Shlemon 
1994 – James F. Quinlan*
1995 – Robert S. Yeats 
1996 – J. David Rogers 
1997 – Don U. Deere*
1998 – Thomas L. Holzer 
1999 – Mavis Kent 
2000 – Allen W. Hatheway 
2001 – Robert J. Watters 
2002 – Perry H. Rahn 
2003 – Chester “Skip” Watts 
2004 – Jeffrey R. Keaton
2005 – Richard Iverson 
2006 – Jerry Higgins
2007 – John Moylan*
2008 – John Clague
2009 – Edmund Medley
2010 – Paul Marinos* 
2011 – Bill Haneberg
2012 – Scott F. Burns
2013 – James P. McCalpin
2014 – Gregory Hempen
2015 – Eldon Gath
2016 – Jerome De Graff*
2017 – Scott A. Anderson
2018 – Dr. John Wakabayashi
2019 –  Deborah Green
2020 – Scott Lindvall
2021 – Cheryl Hapke, PhD
2022 – Richard M. Wooten
2023  Vincent Cronin
2024  Cynthia Palomares