Forums   |   Events   |   Careers   |   Sign In   |   Join AEG
Community Search


Outstanding Student Chapter Award
Share |

The AEG Board of Directors established the Outstanding Student Chapter award in 2001 to honor the AEG Student Chapter judged to have excelled over all others in a given year. The award is AEG’s way of recognizing a Student Chapter for its outstanding performance. The award is also intended to help revitalize and encourage student chapters by challenging them to excel in a number of areas.

Application for the award should be made for the preceding academic year. The required application can be made in the form of the annual report of the chapter activities that is required by the student activities coordinator on the home campus or as a report directly to the AEG Board of Directors (BOD).

A committee composed of members from the Student and Young Professional Committee to review the applications. The committee selects the Outstanding Student Chapter and two runner-up chapters and presents its selection to the President of the Association at least 60 days prior to the Annual Meeting.

Nominations are due June 15 and should be submitted to Headquarters. This award shall be presented to a representative of the chapter at the Annual Meeting. The award shall consist of a certifcate, a cash award, and registration for up to two student representatives at the Annual Meeting. Runner-up chapters will receive certificates and smaller cash amounts.

Judging Criteria:

  1. Number of chapter meetings and attendance.
  2. Number of field trips and attendance.
  3. Attendance at chapter meetings.
  4. Attendance and talks at AEG's Annual Meeting.
  5. Talks at section student nights and total student attendance at the event.
  6. Outreach to other campuses to start new student chapters.
  7. Number of members at the time of the report and percentage increase from prior year.
  8. Fundraising activities.
  9. Help at chapter level: meetings, short courses, etc.
  10. Help at AEG's Annual Meeting and Board Meetings.
  11. Number of applicants (and recipients) to Marliave, Stout, and Tilford Scholarships.
  12. Other awards the chapter or individual students have won.

Visit the Student Chapter Details page to download and complete the Student Chapter Report & Outstanding Student Chapter Award application.


2002 – Colorado School of Mines
2003 – University of Wisconsin, Madison
2004 – Portland State University
2005 – Portland State University
2006 – Kent State University
2007 – Portland State University
2008 – Portland State University
2009 – University of Wisconsin, Madison
2010 – Radford University
2011 – Portland State University
2012 – Portland State University
2013 – Colorado School of Mines
2014 No Award Bestowed
2015 No Award Bestowed
2016 – Portland State University
2017 – Wake Tech Community College

Sign In


9/14/2019 » 9/17/2019
AIPG 56th Annual Meeting

AEG Foundation 2nd Annual Golf Tournament

9/17/2019 » 9/22/2019
2019 AEG Annual Meeting

 2019 Annual Meeting 

September 17-22, 2019 Asheville, North Carolina

Learn more here