Forums   |   Events   |   Careers   |   Sign In   |   Join AEG
Community Search


The Schuster Medal
Share |

The Schuster Medal is a joint award from the Association of Environmental & Engineering Geologists and the Canadian Geotechnical Society that recognizes excellence in geohazards research in North America. All nominees for the Schuster Medal must meet at least two of the following criteria:

  • Professional excellence in geohazards research with relevance to North America.
  • Significant contribution to public education regarding geohazards.
  • International recognition for a professional career in geohazards.
  • Influential geohazards research or development of methods or techniques.
  • Teacher of students who work on geohazards issues.

Nominations are due May 15 and should be submitted to Headquarters.


2007 – Robert L. Schuster

2008 – Oldrich Hungr

2009 – Barry Voight

2010 – Norbert R. Morgenstern

2012 – Derek Cornforth

2013 – Jacques Locat

2014 – Keith Turner

2015 – David Cruden

2016 – D. Jean Hutchinson

2017 – Dr. Abdul Shakoor

Sign In


8/2/2018 » 8/2/2019
AEG Carolinas Summer Meeting

8/7/2018 » 8/9/2018
GeoHazards Impacting Transportation in Appalachia

AEG at The Muny – Meet Me in St. Louis & Backstage Tour

Nashville Chapter Dinner Meeting & Speaker at Bavarian Bierhaus

Annual Meeting

  September 15-23, 2018  
61st AEG Annual Meeting
13th IAEG Congress
  Hyatt Regency San Francisco
San Francisco, California