Forums   |   Events   |   Careers   |   Sign In   |   Join AEG
Community Search

 

AEG Carolinas Summer Meeting
Tell a Friend About This EventTell a Friend
 

 Export to Your Calendar 8/2/2018 to 8/2/2019
When: August 2, 2018
5:00 PM
Where: Clouds Brewing
126 N. West Street
Raleigh, North Carolina 
United States
Contact: Rick Kolb
RSVP by July 30th

« Go to Upcoming Event List  

AEG Carolinas Dinner/Meeting

Legal and Technical Aspects of the GenX Issue

Thursday, August 2, 2018

Clouds Brewing, Raleigh

The Carolinas Chapter of the

Association of Environmental & Engineering Geologists Presents

 

Guest Speakers:

 

Heather Kennealy and Ed Woloszyn

 

Meeting Details – Note the Times are Different from Past Meetings!

Place:  Clouds Brewing, 126 N. West Street, Raleigh

Date: Thursday, August 2, 2018

Time5:00 PM socializing begins, 6:30 PM buffet dinner, 7:30 PM Presentations begin

Cost:  AEG and ASCE members $30; non-members $40; public-sector employees, teachers, and general public $20, students free with college ID.  Cost includes one drink ticket courtesy of Hazmat Emergency Response and Remediation (HERR) and SGS North America.  Thanks to Al King of HERR and Kendall Sutler of SGS!

Reservations:  Please make reservations with Rick Kolb (rick.kolb1@gmail.com) by 5:00 PM on Monday, July 30, 2018.  Attendees that walk in without a RSVP will be charged $5 on top of meeting cost.  Beware that the meeting may sell out in advance, so make a reservation on our website, www.aegcarolinas.org.

 

Abstracts for the Presentations

 

Emerging contaminants are being targeted by environmental regulatory agencies.  For those chemicals with scant toxicological data on the effects to human health, the regulatory community will take a conservative approach for establishing health goals or action levels, as well as implement stringent restrictions on the release of these unregulated chemicals that can be costly to manufacturers.  One such emerging chemical is GenX, which is in a group of chemicals referred to as per- and polyfluoroalkyl substances (PFAS).  Upon discovery of this unregulated chemical in drinking-water plants along the Cape Fear River in North Carolina, Chemours was identified as the source of GenX and has been targeted by state regulatory agencies and is subject to third-party lawsuits to mitigate releases; to pay for state-directed costs to assess the distribution of GenX to surface water, soil and air; and to be responsible for cleanup costs.

 

Résumés for Heather and Ed

 

Heather Kennealy

Heather Kennealy is an attorney with 16 years of environmental law experience working for both private law firms and the federal government.  Her litigation experience has involved class action, Multi-District Litigation and complex tort matters in state and federal courts.  Mrs. Kennealy is serving as Of Counsel, and working on GenX matters, with the Law Offices of F. Bryan Brice, Jr. in Raleigh.  Mrs. Kennealy also maintains her own shop (Kennealy Law Practice) in Hillsborough, where she focuses on smaller agricultural and land-use cases.  She received her undergraduate degree in Public Health and Environmental Science from UNC-Chapel Hill and her law degree from Vermont Law School.  Mrs. Kennealy holds a Master’s in Environmental Law and is licensed to practice law in North Carolina and Massachusetts.

 

Ed Woloszyn

Ed Woloszyn is a Principal Scientist/Project Manager at S&ME’s Raleigh office location with over 28 years of experience in environmental consulting.  In 1985, Ed received his undergraduate degree from the College of Charleston in Marine Biology, earning an award for Outstanding Student in the Field of Marine Biology from The Navy League of the United States Charleston Chapter.  His first career position was in analytical chemistry at General Engineering Laboratories.  Ed then pursed and received a Master’s of Science degree at North Carolina State University from the Department of Marine, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences in 1990.  Ed continued his career at Westinghouse Environmental and Geotechnical Services working on CERCLA human health risk assessments and then moved on to project management at S&ME in 1993.  Since then, he has managed compliance specialists, engineers, and industrial hygienists.  Ed then transitioned his career to managing environmental contracts with the Department of Defense and with the State of North Carolina.  Ed is currently responsible for multi-disciplinary engineering, industrial hygiene and testing services for the manufacturing industry.

 

 

Chapter Sponsors

 

Thanks to our chapter sponsors, without which our meeting dinners would be more expensive, and we couldn’t offer reduced rates for the public-sector employees and teachers, and free dinners for students.  Be sure to tell them thanks for supporting AEG and our profession.

 

TITANIUM SPONSORS

Enviro-Equipment, Inc., 11180 Downs Road; Pineville, NC 28134; www.enviroequipment.com

Rand Ratterree, rand@enviroequipmnt.com

 

Pace Analytical Services, Inc., 9800 Kincey Avenue; Huntersville, NC  28078; www.pacelabs.com

Korey Drew, 704-875-9002, Korey.drew@pacelabs.com

 

Eastern Solutions, 10909 Rozzelles Ferry Rd., Charlotte, NC 28214; www.easternsolutionsenv.com

Edgar Alcaraz, ealcaraz@easternsolutionsenv.com

 

PLATINUM SPONSORS

Pine Environmental, 8411 Garvey Dr., Suite 113, Raleigh, NC 27616; www.pine-environmental.com

Paul Federline, 919-713-0008, pfederline@pine-environmental.com

 

Schnabel Engineering, 11A Oak Branch Drive, Greensboro, NC 27407; www.schnabel-eng.com

Gary Rogers, grogers@schnabel-eng.com

 

SGS North America, Inc., 5500 Business Dr, Wilmington, NC 28405; www.sgs.com

Kendall Sutler, 910-465-5958, Kendall.Sutler@sgs.com

 

GOLD SPONSORS

Clean Vapor, LLC; 148 State Route 94, PO Box 688, Blairstown, NJ 07825; Kristin Hatton, 908-362-5616

khatton@cleanvapor.com, www.cleanvapor.com

 

Contaminant Control, Inc. (CCI), 3434 Black & Decker, Road; Hope Mills, NC 28348; www.cci-env.com

Mark Vestal, 910-484-7000, mark.vestal@cci-env.com

 

Geologic Exploration, Inc., 176 Commerce Blvd.; Statesville, NC 28625; www.geologicexploration.com

Matt Tischler, 800-752-8853, mtischler@gexnc.com

 

Hart & Hickman, PC; 2923 South Tryon Street, Suite 100; Charlotte, NC 28203; www.harthickman.com

Rebecca Deal, 704-887-4636; rdeal@harthickman.com

 

Municipal Engineering Services Company, P.A., 68 Shipwash Drive, Garner, NC 27529; www.mesco.com, Maddie German, 919-772-5393, mgerman@mesco.com

 

Pyramid Environmental, P.O. Box 16265; Greensboro, NC 27406; www.pyramidenvironmental.com

Eric Cross, 336-335-3174, eric@pyramidenvironmental.com

 

SILVER SPONSORS

AE Drilling Services, Inc., 30 Grant Park Place; Greenville, SC 29673; www.aedrilling.com

Lynn Hendrix, 864-288-1986, lhendrix@aedrilling.com

 

Con-Test Analytical Laboratory, 39 Spruce Street; East Longmeadow, MA  01028; www.contestlabs.com

Paul Konnik, 314-302-0431, paul.konnik@contestlabs.com

 

EGIS, PA; 441 Northside Drive; Chapel Hill, NC 27516; www.waterwellvideos.com

Mike Vaught, 919-929-8363, gwinvest@juno.com

 

ENCO Labs; 102-A Woodwinds Industrial Court, Cary, NC 27511; Jim Hays, 919-812-4471, jhays@encolabs.com, www.ENCOLabs.com

 

Environmental Data Resources, 6 Armstrong Road; Shelton, CT 06484; www.edrnet.com

Todd Elmore, telmore@edrnet.com

 

Parratt-Wolff, 501 Millstone Dr., Hillsborough, NC 27278; www.pwinc.com

Gary Ellingworth, gellingworth@pwinc.com

 

Prism Laboratories, P. O. Box 240543; Charlotte, NC 28224-0543; www.prismlabs.com

Adam Phillips, 919-451-3370, aphillips@prismlabs.com

 

SAEDACCO, 9088 Northfield Drive; Ft. Mill, SC 27406; www.saedacco.com,

Pete Byer, (803) 548-2180, pbyer@saedacco.com

Sign In


Events

8/2/2018 » 8/2/2019
AEG Carolinas Summer Meeting

8/7/2018 » 8/9/2018
GeoHazards Impacting Transportation in Appalachia

8/10/2018
AEG at The Muny – Meet Me in St. Louis & Backstage Tour

8/23/2018
Nashville Chapter Dinner Meeting & Speaker at Bavarian Bierhaus

Annual Meeting



  September 15-23, 2018  
61st AEG Annual Meeting
13th IAEG Congress
  Hyatt Regency San Francisco
San Francisco, California

Facebook